Understanding Nevada Car Insurance Laws
Nevada’s laws on car insurance require liability insurance for all drivers. There is an online verification system to validate insurance, and those who do not have valid car insurance face consequences. To avoid fines and penalties associated with being uninsured, you need to find car insurance in Nevada that covers all of your insurance needs at a rate that you can afford.
Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada
All Nevada drivers must have liability car insurance coverage to pay for any damages and injuries that might result from an accident that the driver may cause.
Nevada Coverage Minimums (15/30/10):
- Bodily Injury Per Person – $15,000
- Bodily Injury Per Accident – $30,000
- Property Damage Coverage – $10,000
The amount of car insurance coverage that you purchase beyond these limits is up to you. Compare your options and car insurance quotes to find the perfect policy coverage for your needs.
When you register your car for the first time, and every time you renew your registration after that, you must provide your insurance information to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
You should have your Evidence of Insurance card (issued by your insurance company) ready to provide your policy number. New residents of Nevada are required to register their vehicles within 30 days of moving to the state. The state of Nevada will then be able to use Nevada LIVE (an online verification system) to verify your insurance information.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage in Nevada
Optional car insurance coverage can make all the difference if you are at fault in a car accident, if nobody is at fault in an accident, or if you have expenses that are not covered by the liability insurance of the at-fault driver. Some of the available optional car insurance coverage options include:
- Collision coverage covers your vehicle damages in a collision – may be required if leasing/financing your vehicle.
- Comprehensive coverage covers your vehicle damages caused by external factors (severe weather, theft, vandalism) – may be required if leasing/financing your vehicle.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage covers damages and injuries caused by uninsured and underinsured drivers.
- Medical payments coverage covers medical care expenses for yourself and passengers.
- Rental reimbursement coverage covers the costs of renting a car.
- Towing/labor coverage covers towing expenses and roadside assistance.
- Guaranteed asset protection (GAP) coverage covers a car loan if you owe more than what the car is worth when it is a total loss.
Consequences of Driving Without Car Insurance
The consequences of driving without car insurance include the suspension of your vehicle registration and the suspension of your driver’s license.
Suspended Car Insurance Notification
Your car insurance status will be checked by the Nevada LIVE system throughout the year and whenever you register your vehicle or renew your registration. If at any time your car insurance cannot be verified by this system, you will receive notification of this fact from the DMV. You will then have 15 days to respond to this if you don’t want your vehicle registration to be suspended.
It is common to receive this notice after changing insurance companies. You can easily respond to the notification online on the Nevada DMV insurance verification website where you will be able to enter your valid and verifiable insurance information.
Once you’ve done this, you will either receive immediate confirmation online and a follow-up confirmation letter or you will receive a pending notification to inform you that your insurance records are being requested from your insurance company.
If you do not respond to the first notification within 15 days or if your insurance company does not respond to the DMV within 20 days, then your vehicle registration will be suspended and you will receive a certified letter to inform you of this fact. If this is your first offense, then you will have to pay $250 to reinstate your registration once you have valid insurance.
Penalties for Insurance Violation
Insurance violation penalties are based on how long you’ve been without car insurance and how many insurance violations you’ve had in the past. Depending on these factors, you can expect to face any of the following penalties:
- Reinstatement fees – $250 to $750 – Based on past violations
- Fines – Up to $1000 – Based on time without car insurance
- SR22 (see below )- Three years – For having no insurance for 91+ days
- Driver’s license suspension – Minimum of 30 days – On third violation
- Automatic driver’s license and vehicle registration suspension – For causing $750+ in damage while driving without car insurance
If you want to learn more about what can happen if you drive without car insurance in Nevada, visit the Nevada DMV website.
What is an SR22?
If you have an insurance violation for 91+ days in Nevada or if you have certain other violations, like drunk driving, you may have to have an SR22.
In Nevada, the SR22 is a guarantee that you will have insurance for the next three years. It is basically a proof of financial responsibility that your insurance company files with the DMV. You will have to re-begin the three year period if you allow your SR22 to lapse or get canceled.
Consequences of Driving Without Proof of Insurance
All drivers in Nevada should have their Nevada Evidence of Insurance card on them at all times while driving. Your car insurance company will issue this card to you, and you must be able to present it during a traffic stop or after an accident. If you are unable to do so, you may receive a citation.
Nevada Division of Insurance (DOI)
The Nevada Division of Insurance (DOI) is the agency that regulates Nevada car insurance and assists consumers with their questions and complaints about insurance.
Do You Have Questions or Complaints?
If you have any questions or complaints, you can contact the DOI at the following numbers:
- Northern Nevada: (775) 687-0700
- Southern Nevada: (702) 486-4009
You can also file a formal complaint with the DOI by mail, fax, or via the internet if you are unable to resolve an issue with an insurance company.
To file a complaint online, you need to create an account on the DOI website with your name and contact information. You will then be able to complete the online complaint form. If you prefer to file your complaint via mail or fax, you can obtain a copy of the Consumer Complaint Form (DOI 301) and mail or fax this using the contact information of the regional offices that are printed on the form. You will be able to request that your complaint file be kept confidential from the public if you so choose.
What is Car Insurance Fraud?
Insurance fraud is illegal and can cost you money by contributing to state and national insurance rate increases.
Car insurance fraud includes filing false claims, exaggerating claims, staging car accidents, or forging insurance documents. This is the cause of rate increases throughout Nevada and the United States.
If you suspect that someone is committing car insurance fraud, contact the Nevada Attorney General:
- Fraud Hotline – (800) 266-8688
- Mail – Obtain Suspected Insurance Fraud Information Report and mail to address listed on form.
Car Insurance Rates in Nevada
There are many factors that can affect your car insurance rates in Nevada. You should obtain multiple quotes to compare from different insurance companies to ensure that you get the best deal. However, some things that will impact your rate from any insurance company include:
- Marital Status
- Credit Report
- Past Claims
- Driving Record (for the past three to five years)
- Make/Model of Car
Being eligible for certain discounts can help to make your car insurance more affordable, so ask about these when gathering and comparing car insurance quotes.
Car Insurance and Credit Reporting
A car insurance company might determine your rating by using your credit report. The company has to inform the driver if they plan to use this information in Nevada. Not all insurance companies will use your credit information, though some will.
Car Insurance and Traffic Violations
Your driving record is a key factor that insurance companies use to set your car insurance rates.
One of the most important factors when it comes to your car insurance rates will be your history of traffic violations. This indicates to the insurance company that you are a greater risk and your rates will be higher for this. Some violations that can cause this issue include reckless driving, moving violations
(speeding), and DUIs. If you have a clean driving record, your car insurance will be much cheaper.
High-Risk Driver Car Insurance
Frequently, insurance companies will refuse to insure drivers with an extensive history of violations, accidents, and/or insurance claims. If this situation applies to you, you must apply for car insurance through the Nevada Automobile Insurance Plain (NAIP) which assigns high risk drivers to insurance companies. Contact the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP) to learn more:
- (800) 227-4659
This is how you can be connected with a car insurance company that cannot legally refuse to insure you.
Discounts for Nevada Car Insurance
There are many discounts available for Nevada drivers who meet certain criteria:
- Safe Driver Discounts
- Multiple Vehicle Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discounts (home and car)
- Anti-theft and Safety Device Discounts
- Drivers Education Course Discounts (for teens and drivers over 55)
If you want to make sure you get the best rates, you should always ask about the available discounts when comparing insurance options, be sure to drive safely and maintain a great driving record, and keep your car insurance up to date at all times.