If you have experienced injuries and losses in a car accident in Nevada, you need to know how the law affects your case and settlement. It’s important to understand the rules, requirements, and responsibilities of drivers in Nevada and to know if and when to contact an attorney. Educating yourself about the process of settling a Nevada car accident with insurance is the best place to start.
What Laws Are Associated With Car Accidents in Nevada?
After experiencing a car accident in Nevada, you may be prepared to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver or you may be wrapped up in an insurance claim. Either way, you should know how the law applies to your own situation.
The first thing that you need to be aware of is the statute of limitations which allows two years for an injured person to file a lawsuit, starting from the date that the injury occurred. If you do not file a complaint and summons in civil court within that period of time, you lose your right to do so. This statute of limitations is the same with vehicle damage (Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190). You may feel confident that your case can settle outside of court, but you still need to make sure that you have the option of filing a lawsuit, so pay attention to the statute of limitations.
What are the Requirements for Car Insurance in Nevada?
Nevada requires adequate insurance for all drivers. The minimum coverage requirements are:
- Bodily injury to one person in accident – $25,000
- Bodily injury to more than one person in accident – $50,000
- Property damage coverage – $25,000
Optional car insurance coverage options include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. These types of insurance options are recommended but not required.
Should You Contact a Nevada Car Accident Attorney?
Not all car accident claims require the assistance of a lawyer to be successful. You may be dealing with a situation where your injuries are minor or where the insurance company isn’t disputing your injury severity or the liability of their insured driver. You may even receive a settlement that is more than fair to compensate your losses. If this is the case, you don’t need to hire an attorney.
On the other hand, you may find yourself in a situation where the insurance company of the at-fault driver is trying to claim that you are the one who actually caused the accident. You might suffer serious and expensive to treat injuries that the insurance company would rather avoid paying for. Once you start dealing with adversity from the insurance company, your case becomes more complicated, and you
will benefit greatly from the advice and action of a Nevada car accident lawyer. If you’re worried about the cost, keep in mind that the majority of car accident lawyers work on a contingency bases so that they only get paid (a percentage) if you receive compensation.
You want to work with an attorney who knows how to negotiate with insurance companies and who is also prepared to take the case to Nevada civil court.